Maine Genealogy Archives

1820 Census: Plantation No. 15, Washington County

Plantation No. 15 was incorporated in 1822 as the town of Cooper.

Source: United States of America, Bureau of the Census. Fourth Census of the United States, 1820. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1820. M33. Roll 37.

This transcription was generously provided by Joan Rines, and was proofread by Christopher Dunham. Any errors that remain are solely the responsibility of the proofreader.

Only the first fifteen fields are shown below. Those entries that include additional data are marked with a . Entries followed by a are accompanied by a notation. Click on a name to view an individual's expanded entry.

Key to entries:

a. Free white males under 10
b. Free white males of 10 and under 16
c. Free white males of 16 and under 18
d. Free white males of 16 and under 26
e. Free white males of 26 and under 45
f. Free white males of 45 and upwards
g. Free white females under 10
h. Free white females of 10 and under 16
i. Free white females of 16 and under 26
j. Free white females of 26 and under 45
k. Free white females of 45 and upwards
l. Foreigners not naturalized
m. Persons engaged in agriculture
n. Persons engaged in commerce
o. Persons engaged in manufacturing
[p. 271]
James Cook410010000101100
Wm. Peacock000010000000100
John Tuel011210010010200
Saml. Rich100010001100100
Jona. Carey110010000100100
Otis Pineo110010010100100
Jona. Pineo Senr010001001010100
Isaac Johnson200010100100001
Benja Coffin100020001000100
John Chaloner200210200100100
Benj Getchell200011200100200
Jos. Averil120010310100200
John Mitchell000110001000200
Luther Carey200110001000200
Stephen Munson300010310100100
Paul Munson300020010100200
Ezekiel Rich210010220100100
Francis Low020010100100100
Elias Foster420111101101201
Moses Munson310001110100200
Danl. Whittemore200010101000100
Jona Pineo Jr101201211010200
Asa Howe200010300100100
Stephen Hatch400010010100100
Jas Niles000100101000100
Edwd Coombs020010100100100
Silas Ireland200100001001100
Jas. Leland010001101010100
John Swaney000010000000100

[p. 272]
Miles Hill101201211100100
Joseph Blacksford100010300100100
Simeon Foster221110000100200
John Arbuckle000010000001000
Edwd Murphy000010000001000
Paul Spooner000010000000100
Josiah Scribner100010000100100
John Stretch000010301001100